To Be Needed

Here on a Saturday night after a trip to Louisville, KY, I stare at my screen and ask Dr Google a question that’s been burning inside me.

What does it mean to be needed?  Results were scattered.

The dictionary provided that it meant a condition or situation in which something is required or wanted.  That doesn’t satisfy what I’m looking for.

Next. I just typed in a simple sentence.

To be needed.

I saw a Chuck Palahunuik quote pop up…it interested me, I clicked on the article to get the entire quote and it goes like this,

“What I want is to be needed.  What I need is to be indispensable to somebody.  Who I need is somebody that will eat up all my free time, my ego, my attention.  Somebody addicted to me.  A mutual addiction.”

It’s nearly the perfect description.

Leave a Reply

